Do major version upgrades require the previous version to be installed?

No, all versions are stand-alone (including service packs) thus you never need the previous version to be installed to upgrade.

Sometimes, you even need to un-install previous versions before installing a new major version when major architectural changes have been made.

While we could have made the installer more complex, it would be more prone to bugs and we would spend resources we can use better elsewhere.